Skip to main content


  1. Home
  2. Council

Michael Begley elected Cathaoirleach of Clare County Council

22 June 2018

Michael Begley (Independent) has been unanimously elected Mayor of Clare at today’s Annual General Meeting of Clare County Council.

Councillor Begley, a native of Clonlara who was first elected to Clare County Council in 1991, succeeds Fianna Fáil Councillor Tom McNamara from Kilmaley in the role.  

Mayor Begley was proposed for the role by Councillor Gerry Flynn (Independent) and seconded by Councillors PJ Ryan (Independent), Tony O’Brien (Fianna Fáil) and Joe Cooney (Fine Gael).

Councillor Alan O’Callaghan (Fianna Fáil) from Kilmurry was elected Leas Cathaoirleach and replaces Councillor Pat Burke (Fine Gael) from Whitegate in the role.

Addressing Elected Members, Council staff and family members and friends, Mayor Begley said, “I take great pride in the fact that I am the first person from Clonlara and indeed, the wider Southeast Clare area to have been named Mayor of Clare. This is my proudest day as an Elected Member and I look forward to representing this Council, the people of County Clare, my own family and the parish of Clonlara during my term as Mayor.”

“I want to thank Councillor McNamara and acknowledge the fine job he did over the past year in representing this Council and County with the humility, honour and professionalism that we all associate with him,” added the Mayor.

Page last reviewed: 22/06/18

Back to top