Skip to main content


  1. Home
  2. Council

25 Clare schools awarded a Green Schools Flag

29 May 2024

The 2023/2024 school academic year marks the 26th year of the An Taisce Green Schools programme in Ireland. This month saw 25 Clare schools being awarded the Green Schools Flag for their work on the themes of Litter and Waste, Energy, Water, Travel, Biodiversity and Global Citizenship.

25 Clare schools awarded a Green Schools Flag

Green Schools is a long-term, whole-school action for the environment. It is a student-led programme with involvement from the wider community. The programme is operated and co-ordinated by the Environmental Education Unit of An Taisce in partnership with Clare County Council.

Karen Foley, Environmental Awareness Officer with Clare County Council, outlined, “To date, 93 primary schools, 15 secondary schools and 3 preschools from across County Clare have received Green Schools Flags. It is a fantastic achievement for any school to receive a Green Schools Flag award.  It requires commitment from school management and dedication from a Green School committee and Green School co-ordinator, to implement a seven-step programme over a two-year period.  I would like to thank and acknowledge all schools across Clare participating in the Green School programme for all their hard work.”

Pat Dowling, Chief Executive of Clare County Council, extended his congratulations and gratitude to all 25 Clare schools that received a Green Schools flag.  He explained, “The Green Schools programme supports our Climate Action Plan and its links to raising awareness and taking climate action, not just within the school community but also across the wider community, is invaluable.”  

Sarah Hegarty, Clare’s Green Schools Travel Officer with An Taisce, said: “I wish to commend Green Schools students, school staff and families who helped schools in achieving and renewing the Green Schools Flag 2024. Like Clare County Council, An Taisce is a Sustainable Development Goals champion and the actions the Green School committees take to support sustainable living is critical for future generations, not only in Clare and Ireland but across the world.”

The following schools received a Green Schools Flag in this awards cycle:

Annagh NS (Miltown Malbay), Boston National School (Tubber), C.B.S Primary School (Ennis), Clarecastle NS, Clonmoney NS, Clooney NS, Gaelscoil Iosef Naofa, Gaelscoil Mhíchíl Cíosóg (Inis), Kilkee Community College, Kilmurry McMahon NS, Kilnaboy NS, Lahinch NS, Mary K's Childcare and Montessori (Doora), Scoil Mhuire (Corofin), Scoil na Maighdine Mhuire (Newmarket on Fergus), Shragh NS, St. Aidan's NS (Shannon), St. Clare's School (Ennis), St. Enda's National School (Lisdoonvarna), St. Flannan's NS (Inagh), St. John Bosco Community College (Kildysart), St. John's NS (Cratloe), St. Michael's Community College (Kilmihil), Stonehall NS, Tuamgraney NS

Page last reviewed: 29/05/24

Content managed by: Roads, Environment and Water Services Department

Back to top