Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

of Shannon Municipal District

Tuesday 28th June, 2022 at 3.00pm

In Treacy's Oakwood Hotel, Airport Road, Shannon, Co. Clare

Present: Councillors John Crowe (Cathaoirleach), Pat McMahon, Donna McGettigan, Michael Begley, Pat O'Gorman, Gerard Flynn & PJ Ryan.

> Liam Conneally Director of Servicess, Jason Murphy Senior Executive Officer/Meetings Administrator, Tom Mellett Senior Executive Engineer & Patricia O'Neill, Staff Officer.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr. John Crowe opened the meeting and welcomed all present.

Cllr. Crowe reflected on the projects that were progressed during his tenure as Cathaoirleach of the Shannon MD, which included the Shannon Town Masterplan; the Shannon In Bloom initiative that saw the delivery of 50,000 bulbs distributed to 11 communities throughout the district; Sixmilebridge Town & Village Renewal (TVR) Scheme with works completed on the new streetscape; Bunratty & Parteen TVR; the completion of refurbishment works to the wall at the entrance to Westbury estate; funding secured in the sum of €100k for a Masterplan for Sixmilebridge under the "Town Centre First" initiative; projects under Active Travel - completion of footpaths in Shannon Banks and the upgrade of bus stops at Newmarket On Fergus, Westbury and Shannon. In relation to the development of the One Shannon Hub, the Members had visited facilities in Dublin, Belfast and London and this provided a fruitful experience and he thanked staff and Members that took part and organised same.

Cllr. Crowe congratulated Jason Murphy on his recent appointment as Acting Director of Service to co-ordinate the local authorities response to the Ukraine crisis. Cllr. Crowe thanked Mr. Murphy for loyalty, commitment and for the role he played in progressing a number of projects in the Shannon MD and wished him well in his new role. These sentiments were also expressed by all the Elected Members present.

Cllr. Crowe also wished Jennifer O'Brien, Rural & Community Development Officer well on her departure from Clare County Council and thanked her for her work with the Elected Members and local communities in the Shannon MD.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach thanked his fellow Councillors and the staff of the Shannon MD for their support and commitment over the last 12 months and stated it was an honour to represent the district in his capacity as Cathaoirleach.

Nominations for Cathaoirleach were invited. On the proposal of Cllr. PJ Ryan, seconded by Cllr. Pat McMahon, Cllr Michael Begley was unanimously elected as

Cathaoirleach. Cllr. Michael Begley then took the chair for the remainder of the meeting, having been handed the chain of office by Cllr. John Crowe.

Cllr. Michael Begley thanked the Members for nominating him as Cathaoirleach and looked forward to the year ahead working with his fellow Members and staff of the MD to achieve project delivery. In relation to projects currently in progress, Cllr. Begley stated he hoped that the Springfield, Clonlara Flood Relief Scheme would be completed later this year. He looked forward to the progession of the TVR Schemes for Drumgeely and Clonlara. The upgrade of the N19 is vitally important particularly as the need for Shannon Airport to be used more extensively grows. He commended the work to date on the Shannon Town Masterplan and that the One Shannon Hub would progress to design stage. In relation to the Limerick Northern Distributor Road (LNDR), he emphasised the need to be able to access the University of Limerick from the north and west and hoped that works on the LNDR would recommence in the near future.

In conclusion, Cllr. Begley extended his congratulations to Jason Murphy on his recent promotion and commended his work to date in the Shannon MD. He also acknowledged Jennifer O'Brien on the role she fulfilled as Rural Development Officer and wished her well in the future.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months

The Cathaoirleach invited nominations for the election of Leas Cathaoirleach. On the proposal of Cllr. Gerard Flynn, seconed by Cllr Pat O'Gorman, Cllr. Donna McGettigan was unanimously elected as Leas Cathaoirleach.

3. Approval of payment of allowances to the Cathaoirleach

The payment of allowances to the Cathaoirleach for the term was proposed by Cllr. Gerard Flynn and seconded by Cllr. John Crowe and agreed by all.

4. Draft Schedule of Meetings for the next 12 months.

Tuesday 26th July 2022 at 9:45am Tuesday 20th September 2022 at 9:45am Tuesday 15th November 2022 at 9:45am Tuesday 17th January 2023 at 9:45am Tuesday 21st March 2023 at 9:45am Tuesday 16th May 2023 at 9:45am

Proposed by Cllr. Gerard Flynn, seconded by Cllr. Pat O'Gorman.

5. AOB

Cathaoirleach Michael Begley proposed a vote of sympathy on the untimely passing of Limerick Cllr. Jerry O'Dea. This was agreed by all the Members.

The meeting then concluded.

Signed: _____

Signed: _____

Cathaoirleach

Meetings Administrator