Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

of Shannon Municipal District

Friday 18th June, 2021 at 3.30pm

In Treacy's Oakwood Hotel, Airport Road, Shannon, Co. Clare

Present: Councillors Pat McMahon (Cathaoirleach), Donna McGettigan, Michael

Begley, Pat O'Gorman, John Crowe, Gerard Flynn & PJ Ryan.

Liam Conneally Director of Servicess, Jason Murphy Meetings

Administrator, Tom Mellett Senior Executive Engineer & Patricia O'Neill,

Staff Officer.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Pat McMahon opened the meeting and welcomed all present. Cllr. Pat McMahon reflected on the past 12 months during his tenure as Cathaoirleach. He acknowledged the challenges ahead for the economy as the Country emerges from the pandemic and emphasised the importance of Government, Local Government and all stakeholders working together during these challenging times. Cllr. McMahon highlighted the role played by Shannon Airport and the Industrial Estate as an economic driver in the Mid-West Region in securing investment in the region and in attracting tourism to the west coast.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach thanked his fellow Councillors and the staff of the Shannon MD for their support and commitment over the last 12 months. He also acknowledged the media for their coverage of meetings.

Nominations for Cathaoirleach were invited. On the proposal of Cllr. Pat McMahon, seconded by Cllr. Gerard Flynn, Cllr John Crowe was unanimously elected as Cathaoirleach. Cllr. John Crowe then took the chair for the remainder of he meeting, having been handed the chain of office by Cllr. Pat McMahon.

Cllr. John Crowe thanked his fellow Councillors for the nomination and stated he was both honoured and privileged to serve as Cathaoirleach of the Shannon MD and pledged his commitment to the role in the year ahead. He commended his predecessor Cllr. Pat McMahon for his role as Cathaoirleach in a challenging 12 months, given Cllr. McMahons vast knowledge and experience as Councillor of Clare County Council for the last 47 years.

The Members thanked the outgoing Cathaoirlech, Cllr. Pat McMahon for his work in the Shannon MD and congratulated the incoming Cathaoirleach Cllr. John Crowe in his new role for the year ahead.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months

The Cathaoirleach invited nominations for the election of Leas Cathaoirleach. On the proposal of Cllr. Gerard Flynn, seconed by Cllr PJ Ryan, Cllr. Michael Begley was unanimously elected as Leas Cathaoirleach.

3. Approval of payment of allowances to the Cathaoirleach

The payment of allowances to the Cathaoirleach for the term was proposed by Cllr. PJ Ryan and seconded by Cllr. Gerard Flynn and agreed by all.

4. Draft Schedule of Meetings for the next 12 months.

Tuesday 20th July 2021 at 9:45am Tuesday 21st September 2021 at 9:45am Tuesday 16th November 2021 at 9:45am Tuesday 18th January 2022 at 9:45am Tuesday 15th March 2022 at 9:45am Tuesday 17th May 2022 at 9:45am

The meeting then concluded.

thaoir	leach				
on M	rphy				
etings	Admi	nistrato	r		
S	son Mu	son Murphy	son Murphy	son Murphy eetings Administrator	son Murphy