## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Killaloe Municipal District held on Friday, 22<sup>nd</sup> June, 2018 at 2:00 p.m. in Boardroom 316, Corporate Headquarters, Áras Contae an Chláir, New Road, Ennis.

**In attendance:** Cllr. Joe Cooney

Cllr. Pat Hayes Cllr. Pat Burke

Cllr. Tony O'Brien

Cllr. Alan O'Callaghan

Cllr. Michael Begley

**Officials:** Mr. Pat Dowling, Chief Executive

Ms. Anne Haugh, Director of Services

Mr. Kieran O'Donnell, Administrative Officer

**Apologies:** Mr. Hugh McGrath, Senior Executive Engineer

## Item 1 Election of Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr. A. O'Callaghan welcomed everybody to the A.G.M. for the Killaloe Municipal District. He thanked his fellow Councillors, the media, the engineering staff, Anne Haugh, Director of Services and those who provided administrative support, for their assistance and co-operation during the year. He extended congratulations on behalf of the elected members to Carol Byrne, Clare Champion for her Justice Media Award.

The members paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach on his work over the past twelve months. They reflected on what was a busy and positive year for the Municipal District.

Pat Dowling, Chief Executive, complimented Cllr. A. O'Callaghan on behalf of the executive. He thanked the members for their assistance in advancing important projects in their area. He looked forward to working with the members in the year ahead as extra funding becomes available through the Urban and Rural Regeneration Funds.

Anne Haugh, Director of Services acknowledged the efficient way that Cllr. A. O'Callaghan had carried out the role.

Cllr. J. Cooney proposed Cllr. P. Burke for the position of Cathaoirleach for the coming year and this was seconded by Cllr. P. Hayes.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr. P. Burke was declared elected to the post of Cathaoirleach. Cllr. P. Burke thanked the Councillors for electing him to the position and for their good wishes. He looked forward to working with them during the year ahead and to advancing important projects for the region including the Killaloe Bypass and the development of Holy Island.

All those present wished him well for the next twelve months.

Cllr. P. Burke took up the position of Cathaoirleach for the remainder of the meeting.

## Item 2 Election of Leas Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months.

Cllr. T. O'Brien proposed Cllr. P. Hayes for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach and this was seconded by Cllr. J. Cooney.

As there were no other nominations, Cllr. P. Hayes was declared elected to the post of Leas Cathaoirleach.

## Item 3 Approval to payment of allowance to Cathaoirleach of Municipal District.

The payment of an allowance to the Cathaoirleach of the Killaloe Municipal District was proposed by Cllr. P. Hayes and seconded by Cllr. T. O'Brien and approved by the members.

The meeting then concluded.

Kieran O'Donnell

**Meetings Administrator** 

25<sup>th</sup> June, 2018.