Skip to main content

Local elections 2019

The Local Elections 2019  will take place on the 24th May, 2019. Polling stations will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Candidates for local elections 2019 

Electoral areas

A local electoral area boundary commission report was published in 2018. This resulted in changes to Clare County Council’s local electoral area boundaries. Clare County Council now has five Local Electoral Areas listed as follows:

  • Ennis - 7 Councillors
  • Ennistymon - 4 Councillors
  • Killaloe - 5 Councillors
  • Kilrush - 5 Councillors
  • Shannon - 7 Councillors

The electoral divisions in each of the electoral areas are listed below. You can also view a map of the new Electoral Areas.


View an interactive map of the new Electoral Areas.


Clareabbey, Doora, Ennis No. 1 Urban, Ennis No. 2 Urban, Ennis No. 3 Urban, Ennis No. 4 Urban, Ennis Rural, Kilnamona, Kilraghtis, Spancelhill and Templemaley.


Abbey, Ballagh, Ballyea, Ballyeighter, Ballysteen, Ballyvaskin, Boston, Carran, Castletown, Cloghaun, Cloonanaha, Clooney, Corrofin, Derreen, Drumcreehy, Dysert, Ennistimon, Gleninagh, Glenroe, Kilfenora, Killaspuglonane, Killilagh, Killinaboy, Kilshanny, Kiltoraght, Liscannor, Lisdoonvarna, Lurraga, Magherareagh, Milltown Malbay, Mount Elva, Moy, Muckanagh, Noughaval, Oughtmama, Rath, Rathborney, Ruan and Smithstown.


Ayle, Ballyblood, Ballynahinch, Boherglass, Caher, Caherhurly, Cahermurphy, Cappaghabaun, Carrowbaun, Castlecrine, Cloghera, Clooney, Cloontra, Cloonusker, Coolreagh, Corlea, Crusheen, Dangan, Derrynagittagh, Drummaan, Fahymore, Feakle, Glendree, Inishcaltra North, Inishcaltra South, Kilkishen, Killaloe, Killanena, Killokennedy, Killuran, Kilseily, Kiltannon, Kyle, Lackareagh, Loughea, Mountshannon, Newgrove, O'Briensbridge, Ogonnelloe, Quin, Rathclooney, Rossroe, Scarriff, Toberbreeda, Tomfinlough and Tulla.


Annagh, Ballynacally, Cahermurphy, Clondagad, Cloonadrum, Clooncoorha, Coolmeen, Cooraclare, Creegh, Doonbeg, Drumellihy, Einagh, Formoyle, Furroor, Glenmore, Kilballyowen, Kilchreest, Kilcloher, Kilfearagh, Kilfiddane, Kilkee, Killadysert, Killanniv, Killard, Killimer, Killofin, Killone, Kilmihil, Kilmurry, Kilmurry, Kilrush Rural, Kilrush Urban, Kinturk, Knock, Knocknaboley, Knocknagore, Liscasey, Lisheen, Moveen, Moyarta, Mullagh, Querrin, Rahona, Rinealon, St., Martin's, Tullig and Tullycreen.


Ballycannan, Ballyglass, Cappavilla, Clenagh, Cratloe, Drumline, Killeely, Kiltenanlea Mountievers, Newmarket, Sixmilebridge and Urlan.

Candidates for local elections 2019

A total of 51 candidates will contest the 2019 Clare local elections.

Are you eligible to vote

You are eligible to vote in a Local Election once you are over the age of 18 or will reach the age of 18 on or before Polling Day which is Friday, 24th May 2019. You can check the register to make sure that you are registered to vote. You can also visit our register of electors page to download a form to be added to the supplement for the register so that you can vote for your representation on the Council.

Page last reviewed: 07/05/19

Back to top