Skip to main content


  1. Home
  2. Council

11 Council projects shortlisted for Excellence in Local Government Awards

14 August 2018

The Lough Derg Blueway, Ennis Peace Park, Clare Digital Hubs and the Friars Walk Coach Park are among 11 Clare County Council initiatives shortlisted in the 2018 Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards.  

The annual awards scheme, which is hosted in conjunction with the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, acknowledges and encourages best practice and constructive initiatives by local authorities and is aimed at enhancing the positive relationships that already exist between chambers, businesses and their respective local authorities.

Clare County Council has been shortlisted in 11 of the 15 categories:
- Friars Walk Coach Park Ennis - Coach Friendly Destination (Outstanding initiative through the Municipal Districts)
- Clare Library Outreach Service to Kilmaley Daycare and Health Centre Clare (Supporting Active Communities)
- Community Mobilisation Unit: Rural & Community Development Officer (Best Practice in Citizen Engagement)
- Addressing the Rural Development Challenge (Promoting Economic Development)
- Clare County Councils Digital Hub Programme (Local Authority Innovation)
- The Burren & Cliffs of Moher UNESCO Global Geopark (Sustainable Environment)
- Disability Services at Active Ennis Leisure Complex (Disability Services Provision)
- Lough Derg Blueway (Joint Local Authority Initiative)
- 'BiaFest - Food of the Banner County' (Festival of the Year)
- Ennis Peace Park (Commemorations and Centenaries)
- The Aisling Development (Enhancing the Urban Environment)

Councillor Michael Begley, Mayor of Clare, commented, “I am delighted to learn that the Council has been shortlisted in 11 separate categories of what is a very prestigious awards scheme for the Local Government sector in Ireland.”

Pat Dowling, Chief Executive, added, “Clare County Council has performed very well in this year’s awards scheme and we are delighted to have 11 separate initiatives shortlisted compared to two shortlisted projects in 2017.”

The Excellence in Local Government Award winners will be announced at the 15th annual awards ceremony on 22nd November at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood, Santry. Awards will be presented for excellence in sixteen different categories and one local authority will be awarded the overall award and named Local Authority of the Year 2018.

Visit for more.

Page last reviewed: 14/08/18

Back to top