Skip to main content

Clare Joint Policing Committee

The purpose of the Joint Policing Committee (JPC) is to provide a forum where a local authority and An Garda Síochána, with the participation of Oireachtas members, local councillors and community interests, consult, discuss and make recommendations on matters affecting the policing of the local area in order to contribute to the improved safety and quality of life of the community. 


The JPC cannot consider matters relating to a specific criminal investigation or prosecution or matters relating to the security of the state.

Functions of the JPC

  • Serve as a forum for consultations, discussions and recommendations on policing and crime issues within local authority administrative areas
  • Review levels and patterns of crime and related underlying factors
  • Establish and coordinate Local Policing Fora

Guidelines for the JPC

The operations of the JPC are set out in guidelines drawn up by the Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government and the Department of Justice.


Clare JPC has 31 members comprising:

  • 14 Elected Members
    • Councillor Mary Howard (Chairperson)
    • Councillor Michael Begley
    • Councillor Pat Burke
    • Councillor John Crowe
    • Councillor Pat Daly
    • Councillor Gerard Flynn
    • Councillor Michael Hillery
    • Councillor Ian Lynch
    • Councillor Pat McMahon
    • Councillor Paul Murphy
    • Councillor Ann Norton
    • Councillor Alan O'Callaghan
    • Councillor PJ Ryan
    • Councillor Bill Slattery
  • 5 Oireachtas Members
    • Deputy Pat Breen
    • Deputy Joe Carey
    • Deputy Timmy Dooley
    • Deputy Michael Harty
    • Senator Martin Conway
  • 2 Local Authority Representatives
    • Leonard Cleary, Director of Rural Development and West Clare Municipal District.
    • Annette Donnellan, IS Project Leader, Broadband, Digital and IT Department
  • 3 Garda Representatives
    • Chief Superintendent John Kerin
    • Superintendent Brendan McDonagh
    • Superintendent Martin McGonnell
  • 7 Community / Voluntary Sector Representatives
    • Mr Brian McManus - Clare Youth Service
    • Mr Alphonse Basogomba - Clare Intercultural Network
    • Ms Rosaleen O'Reilly - Irish Farmers Association
    • Mr Dermot Hayes - Clare Older Peoples Council
    • Mr Tom Barry - Clare Community Alert
    • Mr Ger O'Halloran - Community / Voluntary Sector (PPN)
    • Mr Tom Keane - Disability Federation of Ireland


Schedule of meetings

  • 8th October 2018
  • 9th July 2018
  • 9th April 2018
  • 12th February 2018




JPC Plans

Have your say

If you have any comments or questions for the JPC meetings please email or write to the:

JPC Committee
Broadband, Digital and IT Department
Clare County Council
Áras Contae an Chláir
New Road
Co. Clare
V95 DXP2

Members of the public can also attend any of the JPC meetings that are held.

Contact us

Telephone: (065) 6846431 / (065) 6846297

Page last reviewed: 01/08/18

Back to top